site banner Click here for the Department of Physiology and Biophysics Home Page Click here for the UC Irvine Home Page Click here for the School of Medicine Home Page

Latest News


FEB 23Armando Villalta, PhD, receives an Institute of Clinical & Translational Science 2017 Pilot Grant Award for work on regulatory T-cell responses in muscle degenerative disorders.
FEB Dr.'s Tombola & Pathak recognized by the Society of General Physiologists with the Cranefield Award who in the preceding calendar year published an outstanding article in the Journal. Pathak, M.M., Tran, T., Hong, L., Joós, B., Morris, C.E., Tombola, F. (2016) The Hv1 proton channel responds to mechanical stimuli. J. Gen. Physiol. 148(5): 405-418.
FEB 02CART Symposium


SEPT The Department welcomes new international Ph.D. students Hugo Lin & Laura Mendez!
AUG 1The Department welcomes CMB transfer Ph.D. student Athena Papasodero!
JUL 1The Department welcomes CMB transfer Ph.D. students Ryan Davis, Katrina Evans, Jenna Kastenschmidt, and Ceazar Nave!
JUN 27The Department of Physiology & Biophysics welcomes Milton Greenberg, Ph.D. to Assistant Adjunct Professor/Course Director.
JUN 13A study co-led by UC Irvine’s Rongsheng Jin, professor of physiology & biophysics, reveals Botox’s sweet tooth underlies its key neuron-targeting mechanism.
JUN 07Qin Yang, MD and PhD, is chosen as a Research Associates Award Recipient.
JUN 1The Department of Physiology & Biophysics welcomes Medha Pathak, Ph.D. to Assistant Professor.
JUNE The Department Congratulates Professor Kenneth Longmuir's Excellence in Teaching- Basic Science Award!
MAY 21-25Lisa Baik receives merit award for "CRYPTOCHROME is a Direct Neuronal Ultraviolet Light Sensor" presentation at Society for Research on Biological Rhythms' 2016 conference.
MAY 13Gabriel Vargas, MD and PhD, selected as one of UC Irvine Graduate Division's top 50 graduate and postdoctoral scholar alumni honorees.
FEB 24-26Lisa Baik awarded “Best Poster” at the Center for Circadian Biology Symposium: From Cells to Clinic, 2016.


NOV 18Lisa Soyeon Baik has been selected as the 2015-2016 ARCS Scholar.
OCT 16The Department of Physiology & Biophysics welcomes new faculty members for the 2015-2016 year.
JUN 2Chemistry Nobel laureate Dr. Irwin Rose passed away June 2, 2015.
JAN 14Jay Gargus, M.D. turning the corner on autism


JUN 19Rongsheng Jin, Ph.D. and his lab learn how botulism-causing toxin enters bloodstream